Important plants for our wild bees

Murtagh's Meadow

At this time of year as queen bees are beginning to emerge from hibernation it is really important that there is food for them. Yesterday, I received this fascinating table in my inbox. The National Biodiversity Data Centre collects records of bees and the flower the bee was feeding on. With exception of Mahonia all the plants are native. It is also clear that dandelions are important. Here’s a couple of things you could do this spring:

  • Allow the dandelions to flower on your lawn before you cut it, or
  • Leave a corner of your lawn uncut, so that the dandelions can flower

Bees favourite food

Bumblebee on dandelion Bumblebee on dandelion

View original post

About Murtagh's Meadow

As an ecologist I have always had an interest in nature. I love gardening and would spend all day outdoors if I could. I also enjoy taking photographs and writing. I live in the west of Ireland with my young family.
This entry was posted in Pollinators and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

