Bumbles are back!

Murtagh's Meadow

Yes, spring has finally arrived! Today, we finally had some sun after many grey and wet days and I saw the first bumblebees – white tailed and maybe buff tailed too, but they were high up in the willow tree.

The first bee I saw in my parent’s garden. I only had my phone but you can really see that this bee has plenty of parasites. Hopefully they won’t have a detrimental effect on her ability to get a nest started and a new colony going.

There are still couple of places available on this Friday’s Pollinator Course at Lough Lannagh in Castlebar – click here for more information.

 

 

View original post

About Murtagh's Meadow

As an ecologist I have always had an interest in nature. I love gardening and would spend all day outdoors if I could. I also enjoy taking photographs and writing. I live in the west of Ireland with my young family.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.