Buff tailed Bumble is voted Number 1 in UK

The buff -tailed bumblebee has been voted as the UK’s favourite insect in a public poll by the Royal Society of Biology. Check out http://www.rsb.org.uk/news/14-news/1383-buff-tailed-bumblebee-voted-favourite-uk-insect for more information. Though on their own news page they seem to use a photo of a white tailed bumblebee, but then again our Irish buff tails (photographed below) are supposed to have much buffer tails!

Bombus terrestris

Buff tailed bumblebee

About Murtagh's Meadow

As an ecologist I have always had an interest in nature. I love gardening and would spend all day outdoors if I could. I also enjoy taking photographs and writing. I live in the west of Ireland with my young family.
This entry was posted in bumblebees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.