Beautiful Bees

Reblogging my post from my Murtagh’s Meadow blog

Murtagh's Meadow

The mild autumn weather means that there are still bees around. Late flowering plants such as devil’s bit scabious are great for providing vital pollen and nectar late in the season.

The Common carders are still busy in the garden, though all these photos were taken on a walk up Croaghmoyle last Sunday.

Many males bumblebees have distinct yellow faces so there is no problem handling them, as the males don’t have a sting. In fact, this little fellow seemed to quite enjoy the heat from my hand as it wasn’t a very warm day!

To see some lovely cuckoo bumblebees (and other great garden wildlife) check out Gardening Jules lovely Wildlife Wednesday post

View original post

About Murtagh's Meadow

As an ecologist I have always had an interest in nature. I love gardening and would spend all day outdoors if I could. I also enjoy taking photographs and writing. I live in the west of Ireland with my young family.
Gallery | This entry was posted in bumblebees and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.