The importance of pollinators

The documents from the England’s National Pollinator Strategy Seminar are now available to view on the following weblink.

http://www.parliament.uk/mps-lords-and-offices/offices/bicameral/post/post-events/national-pollinator-strategy/

Bees on runner bean

Bees on runner bean

The presentations give some fascinating statistics including the value of the pollinating services pollinators provide and the treat of insecticides. How pollinators and food security are linked (e.g. 75% of our food crops need some form of insect pollination). Globally pollinators services to crops alone are thought to be worth $215 billion.

About Murtagh's Meadow

As an ecologist I have always had an interest in nature. I love gardening and would spend all day outdoors if I could. I also enjoy taking photographs and writing. I live in the west of Ireland with my young family.
This entry was posted in bees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.