Hoverfiles and new bee

There are more hoverflies around at the moment. The ox-eyed daisies appear to attract both Helophilus and Eristalis species into my garden as they are both plentiful at the moment. While doing my bumblebee recording transect earlier in the week, I recorded both Sericomyia silentis and Volucella bombylans both new records for me. (Sorry Volucella photo not good enough to upload).

Sericomyia silentis

Sericomyia silentis

Eristalis spp

Eristalis species

Helophlius species

Helophlius species

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meanwhile the Southern bumblebee has been re-discovered in Rathfarnham after an 88 year absence! Check out http://www.biodiversityireland.ie/rare-bumblebee-rediscovered-after-88-years/ for more details.

 

 

About Murtagh's Meadow

As an ecologist I have always had an interest in nature. I love gardening and would spend all day outdoors if I could. I also enjoy taking photographs and writing. I live in the west of Ireland with my young family.
This entry was posted in hoverflies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.