Bee and Butterfly course

We attended a Bee and Butterfly Monitoring Scheme course at the Country Life Museum at the weekend. It was run by the National Biodiversity Data Centre and basically they are trying to encourage more people to take part in two monitoring schemes they have – one for bees (http://pollinators.biodiversityireland.ie/recording-schemes/bumblebee-monitoring-scheme/) and the other for butterflies (http://butterflies.biodiversityireland.ie/). It was a great day and we learned lots about identifying the different bumblebees and butterfly species. The highlight was getting a photo of Bombus lapidarius which I haven’t yet recorded in my own garden.

 

Bombus Lapidarius

Bombus Lapidarius

About Murtagh's Meadow

As an ecologist I have always had an interest in nature. I love gardening and would spend all day outdoors if I could. I also enjoy taking photographs and writing. I live in the west of Ireland with my young family.
This entry was posted in bumbles, butterflies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.