Leaf cutter bees

Exiting news: – today the solitary leaf cutter bee I have been seeing in my garden for the last three weeks has been identified by Dr Una FitzPatrick at the National Biodiversity Centre as Megachile versicolor. There are very few records of this for the NW of Ireland so am very pleased! The bees have been cutting semi-circles from some lime tree leaves (and also some beech) which they then use to make their nesting chambers. And I have also photographed them collecting pollen from ragworth (see attached photo). The bee collects the pollen in the hairs beneath its belly making it look yellow underneath!

Image

About Murtagh's Meadow

As an ecologist I have always had an interest in nature. I love gardening and would spend all day outdoors if I could. I also enjoy taking photographs and writing. I live in the west of Ireland with my young family.
This entry was posted in soliatries and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.