Today the Carder bees (mostly Bombus pascuorum) seen

Today the Carder bees (mostly Bombus pascuorum) seen to have moved from the flowering brassicas to the comfrey flowers in my garden. There was also a buff tail bumblebee (Bombus terrestris) and one of the red tailed bees that vanished before I could get a good look at it but think it could have been Bombus pratorum. The hoverfly, Rhingia campestris, I am seeing regularly now and it too likes the shelter comfrey.

About Murtagh's Meadow

As an ecologist I have always had an interest in nature. I love gardening and would spend all day outdoors if I could. I also enjoy taking photographs and writing. I live in the west of Ireland with my young family.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.